Select Page

SVL Team

Clients that hire Sorenson Van Leuven, PLLC, gain access to expert attorneys and team of highly trained support staff. The lawyers have more than a combined total of 45 years legal experience in representing and advising clients. We work efficiently and effectively to deliver legal services in a cost effective manner. Meet our team below

James E. Sorenson

E-mail: jim@svllaw.com
Practice Areas: Collections, Bankruptcy, Foreclosure, Consumer Protection Litigation, Civil Litigation
Bio: Jim earned his Bachelor of Science degree, magna cum laude, from Liberty University in 1993 and his Juris Doctorate, high honors, from The Florida State University in 1996. Jim is a licensed attorney in both Florida and Georgia. He is a member of the American Bankruptcy Institute and is past President of the Northern District Bankruptcy Bar Association. Jim is admitted to practice before the Federal Courts in the Northern, Middle and Southern Districts of Florida and Georgia and the Eleventh Circuit Court of Appeals. He regularly conducts seminars and workshops on collections, bankruptcy and consumer protection issues. In addition to representing clients in state and federal court, Jim also has developed an expertise advising Credit Union clients on how to effectively manage and operate a successful collections department.

D. Tyler Van Leuven

E-mail: tyler@svllaw.com
Practice Areas: Collections, Bankruptcy, Foreclosure and Civil Litigation
Bio: Tyler earned his Bachelor of Arts degree in Political Science and Business Administration from Presbyterian College in 1995 and his Juris Doctorate from Mercer University in 1999. Tyler is a licensed attorney in both Florida and Georgia. Prior to joining the firm, Tyler was an associate with the firm of Mowrey & Biggins, P.A. and a Staff Attorney with the Florida Public Service Commission. His previous practice included civil and commercial litigation, local government law, adversarial bankruptcy proceedings, appellate proceedings and legislative affairs. Tyler is admitted to practice before the Federal Courts in the Northern, Middle and Southern Districts of Florida and Georgia. Tyler’s practice focuses on all aspects of creditor rights, bankruptcy and civil litigation.

J. Blair Boyd

E-mail: blairb@svllaw.com
Practice Areas: Collections, Bankruptcy, Foreclosure and Civil Litigation
Bio: Blair earned his Bachelor of Arts degree in History and Social Sciences from The Florida State University in 2003 and his Juris Doctorate from Florida Coastal School of Law in 2006. Prior to joining the firm, he was an associate at Williams Gautier Law Firm and he worked at the Public Defender’s Office for the Second Judicial Circuit in Tallahassee, Florida. He is admitted to practice before the Federal Court in the Northern, Middle and Southern District of Florida. Blair’s practice focuses on all aspects of creditor rights, bankruptcy and foreclosure actions. Blair is a member of the Tallahassee Bar Association.

Stephen Orsillo

E-mail: steveo@svllaw.com
Practice Areas: Collections, Foreclosure and Civil Litigation
Bio: Stephen earned his Bachelor of Science degree in Political Science and History in 2005 from Florida State University and his Juris Doctorate in 2010, from Stetson University College of Law. Prior to joining the firm, Stephen was an associate at both Williams Gautier Law Firm and a large, multistate, real estate law firm where he practiced primarily in the area of foreclosure law. He is admitted to practice in Florida and before the U.S. District Court for the Northern District of Florida. Stephen’s practice focuses on all aspects of creditor rights, foreclosure and civil litigation.

Jessica Thompson

E-mail: jessicat@svllaw.com
Practice Areas: Collections, Bankruptcy and Civil Litigation
Bio: Jessica earned her Bachelor’s degree in Business Administration in 2009 from Emory University’s Goizueta Business School. She earned her Juris Doctorate from Florida Coastal School of Law in 2013, where she was a member of Phi Delta Phi Honor Society. Prior to joining the firm, Jessica was an associate at Williams Gautier Law Firm and clerked for a solo practitioner and worked in the Florida Appellate Law Clinic and the Disability and Public Benefits Clinic at Florida Coastal School of Law. She is admitted to practice in Florida and her practice focuses on all aspects of creditor rights, bankruptcy, and civil litigation. Jessica is a member of The Florida Bar Young Lawyers’ Division.

Cathi Barineau

Office Manager
Email: CathiB@svllaw.com

Melody Cantrell

Post-Judgment Legal Assistant
Email: MelodyC@svllaw.com

Cindy Acree

Post-Judgment Legal Assistant
Email: CindyA@svllaw.com

Jamie Bell

Foreclosure Legal Assistant
Email: JamieB@svllaw.com

Ashley Workowski

Post-Judgment Legal Assistant
Email: AshleyW@svllaw.com

Ayla Tinnell

Collections Legal Assistant
Email: AylaT@svllaw.com

Whitney Whitaker

Bankruptcy Legal Assistant
Email: WhitneyW@svllaw.com

Mandy Sorenson

Bankruptcy Clerk
Email: MandyS@svllaw.com

Katie Sass

Bankruptcy Legal Assistant
Email: KatieS@svllaw.com

Crystal Parsons

Foreclosure Legal Assistant
Email: CrystalP@svllaw.com

Terri Wehnert

Collections Legal Assistant
Email: TerriW@svllaw.com

Maranda Wise

Collections Legal Assistant
Email: MarandaW@svllaw.com